12th Workshop on Optimization and Scientific Computing

The 12th workshop on Optimization and Scientific Computing takes place from 23 to 25 April 2014 in Ba Vi, Hanoi.

The series “Workshop on Optimization and Scientific Computing” is organized annually, starting from 2003. The series was founded by Prof. Hoang Xuan Phu (Institute of Mathematics – VAST) and it has become an annual national forum for the exchange of ideas, techniques, and state-of-the-art applications in the field of optimization and scientific computing among mathematicians, PhD students and graduate students.

GS Hoang Tuy

Prof. Hoang Tuy having the first plenary talk at the workshop.


Moreover, it is to support outstanding maths graduate and PhD students of universities in Vietnam to improve their ability, to learn some advanced lectures and talks as well as to be acquainted with the mathematicians.

This year, the 12th workshop of the series is jointly organized by Vietnam Institute for Advanced Studies in Mathematics and Institute of Mathematics. The workshop attracts more than 140 participants from all around Vietnam..

HT Bavi2

 Participants at the workshop. 


More details about the 12th workshop can be seen at the website:

The website of the series can be also seen here.


(Source VIASM)


Mini-course “Group cohomology and T-functor”

Time: 21/4 – 15/5/2014 (4 weeks)

For the first week: the lectures will be on Monday (21 Apr), Wednesday (23 Apr) and Friday (25 Apr) at 14:30-16:30.
(the schedule will be further updated soon).


Location: VIASM Lecture Hall (C2).

Lecturer: Prof. Jean Lannes, Université Paris Diderot


The main theme of the course will be the description of the interactions between:

- The theory of group cohomology ;

- The theory of unstable modules over the Steenrod algebra.

I will state Quillen’s theorem describing mod p cohomology of finite groups up to nilpotents elements. I will prove this theorem after a long detour using the theory of unstable modules over the Steenrod algebra developped in the 80′s to solve Sullivan’s conjecture. As a reward, we will obtain generalisations of Quillen’s theorem.

Text books

  1.  Henn, Hans-Werner, in Homotopy theoretic methods in group cohomology, Advanced Courses in Mathematics. CRM Barcelona, Birkhauser Verlag, Basel, 2001.
  2. Schwartz, Lionel: Unstable modules over the Steenrod algebra and Sullivan’s fixed point set conjecture, Chicago Lectures in Mathematics, University of Chicago Press, Chicago, IL, 1994.



Please fill in the registration form below your contact information. Deadline for registration: 15/4/2014.

Detail :


Visit of President of University of Würzburg

On April 2, 2014, Professor Alfred Forschel, President of Julius Maximilians University in Würzburg, Germany, and Professor Tran Gia Phuoc, Professor of its Department of Computer Sciences, visited the Insitute of Mathematics Hanoi.

IMG 7501 web

The aim of their visit is to find out possibilities for cooperation between the university and the institute. Professors Le Tuan Hoa, Ngo Viet Trung, and Nguyen Quoc Thang have received them. 

IMG 7506 web


Russian mathematician Yakov G. Sinai received the Abel Prize 2014

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2014 to Yakov G. Sinai of Princeton University, USA, and the Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics, Russian Academy of Sciences, "for his fundamental contributions to dynamical systems, ergodic theory, and mathematical physics". 

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Nils Chr. Stenseth, announced the winner of the 2014 Abel Prize at the Academy in Oslo today, 26 March. Yakov G. Sinai will receive the Abel Prize from His Royal Highness The Crown Prince at an award ceremony in Oslo on 20 May.

The Abel Prize recognizes contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to the mathematical sciences and has been awarded annually since 2003. It carries a cash award of NOK 6,000,000 (about EUR 750,000 or USD 1 million).
Yakov Sinai is one of the most influential mathematicians of the twentieth century. He has achieved numerous groundbreaking results in the theory of dynamical systems, in mathematical physics and in probability theory. Many mathematical results are named after him, including Kolmogorov–Sinai entropy, Sinai’s billiards, Sinai’s random walk, Sinai-Ruelle-Bowen measures, and Pirogov-Sinai theory.

Sinai is highly respected in both physics and mathematics communities as the major architect of the most bridge s connecting the world of deterministic (dynamical) systems with the world of probabilistic (stochastic) systems. During the past half-century Yakov Sinai has written more than 250 research papers and a number of books. He has supervised more than 50 Ph.D.-students. Yakov Sinai has trained and influenced a generation of leading specialists in his research fields. Much of his research has become a standard toolbox for mathematical physicists. The Abel Committee says, “His works had and continue to have a broad and profound impact on mathematics and physics, as well as on the ever-fruitful interaction between these two fields.”



Awards and honours

Yakov G. Sinai has received many distinguished international awards. In 2013 he was awarded the Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement from the American Mathematical Society. Other awards include the Wolf Prize in Mathematics (1997), the Nemmers Prize in Mathematics (2002), the Henri Poincaré Prize from the International Association of Mathematical Physics (2009) and the Dobrushin International Prize from the Institute of Information Transmission of the Russian Academy of Sciences (2009).

Many mathematical societies and academies have elected Sinai to membership or honorary membership: the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1983), the Russian Academy of Sciences (1991), the London Mathematical Society (1992), the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (1993), the United States National Academy of Sciences (1999), the Brazilian Academy of Sciences (2000), the Academia Europaea (2008), the Polish Academy of Sciences (2009) and the Royal Society of
London (2009).

The Abel Prize is awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. The choice of the Abel Laureate is based on the recommendation of the Abel Committee, which is composed of five internationally recognized mathematicians. The Abel Prize and associated events are funded by the Norwegian Government.

For more information, please consult the Abel Prize website:


Visit of an Iranian delegation

On March 26,  2014, an Iranian delegation visited the Institute. The members of the delegation are

  • Prof. Seyed Kamal Sajjadi, President of the Iran-Vietnam Frienship Association and Former Ambassador of Iran in Vietnam,
  • Prof. Shariyar Shojaeipour, Al Mustafa International University,
  • Mr. Mahmond Alizadeh, Third Secretary, Embassy of the Islamic Republic of Iran  in Vietnam.

IMG 7482 web

The aim of the visit is to discuss on possible cooperation in mathematics between Iran and VietNam. Professor Le Tuan Hoa director of the Institute of Mathematics and Professor Ngo Viet Trung received the delegation.

IMG 7489 web


New Scientiffic Publications