International conference "Nevanlinna theory and Complex Geometry in Honor of Lê Văn Thiêm's Centenary"
Hanoi, 26/02/2018 - 02/3/2018

2018 PosterLVTProf. Lê Văn Thiêm (29 March 1918 – 3 June 1991) was one of the most prominent scientists of Vietnam in the 20th century. Together with Prof. Hoàng Tụy, he is considered the father of Vietnam Mathematics society. He was the first director of the Institute of Mathematics Hanoi, and the first Rector of Hanoi National University of Education and Hanoi University of Science.
On the occasion of Prof. Lê Văn Thiêm's centenary, we organize this conference bringing together experts in Complex Analysis, Complex Geometry, Nevanlinna theory, Number theory and other topics, related to the current development of mathematics in Vietnam.
Volumes in memory of Prof. Le Van Thiem will be published in the international journal Acta Mathematica Vietnamica with papers from all topics of mathematics. More information will be available soon.
For more details, please visit the workshop website



  • Monday: Opening Ceremony and Talks at Auditorium, the 2nd floor, A6 Bulding, Institute of Mathematic-VAST, 18-Hoang Quoc Viet, Hanoi, Vietnam.
  • Tuesday - Friday: Auditorium,Vietnam Institute for Advanced Study in Mathematics, The 7th floor, Ta Quang Buu Library, University of Science and Technology, 1 Dai Co Viet Street, Hanoi, Vietnam.

There will be no registration fee.
Members of organizing and scientific committee, invited speakers are automatically registered.
Participants have to fill in a registration form (download here) and send it to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Registration deadline: January 01st 2018 (for foreign participants) and January 31st 2018 (for Vietnamese participants)


  • Dinh Tien Cuong (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Nguyen Huu Du (Vietnam Institute for Advanced Study in Mathematics and Hanoi University of Science, VNU, Vietnam)
  • Le Mau Hai (Hanoi National University of Education, Vietnam)
  • Phung Ho Hai (Institute of Mathematics, VAST, Vietnam)
  • Pham Hoang Hiep (Institute of Mathematics, VAST, Vietnam)
  • Vu Hoang Linh (Hanoi University of Science, VNU, Vietnam)


  • Ngo Bao Chau (University of Chicago, USA and Vietnam Institute for Advanced Study in Mathematics, Vietnam)
  • Jean-Pierre Demailly (Institut Fourier-Université Grenoble Alpes, France)
  • Le Tuan Hoa (Institute of Mathematics, VAST, Vietnam)
  • Ha Huy Khoai (Thang Long University, Vietnam)
  • Do Duc Thai (Hanoi National University of Education, Vietnam)


  • Damian Brotbek (Université de Strasbourg, France)
  • Do Duc Thai (Hanoi National University of Education, Vietnam)
  • Charles L. Epstein (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • John-Erik Fornæss (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)
  • Chin-Yu Hsiao (Academia Sinica and National Center for Theoretical Sciences, Taiwan)
  • Xiaojun Huang (Rutgers University, USA)
  • Jun-Muk Hwang (Korea Institute for Advanced Study, The Republic of Korea)
  • Kang-Tae Kim (Pohang University of Science and Technology, The Republic of Korea)
  • Sławomir Kołodziej (Jagiellonian University, Poland)
  • Xiaonan Ma (Université Paris-Diderot Paris 7, France)
  • George Marinescu (Universität zu Köln, Germany)
  • Ngaiming Mok (University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Tuen Wai Ng (The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Nguyen Quang Dieu (Hanoi National University of Education, Vietnam)
  • Nguyen Viet Anh (Université de Lille 1, France)
  • Thomas Peternell (Mathematisches Institut, Universität Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Min Ru (University of Houston, USA)
  • Weixiao Shen (Fudan University, People's Republic of China)
  • Nessim Sibony (University of Paris-Sud, France)
  • Emmanuel Ullmo (Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, France)
  • Vu Ha Van (Yale University, USA and National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Elizabeth Wulcan (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
  • Chung-Chun Yang (Nanjing University, People’s Republic of China)
  • De-Qi Zhang (National University of Singapore, Singapore)